Sunday, April 10, 2011

What you won't see in Paris




Why is it so difficult to get ice when one is out of the country? You have to beg and plead and repeatedly ask for ice.

Perhaps it is liquid gold or something we don't know about?

Is it an American thing?

A Texas thang???

Is it only me?

I enjoy a nice cold drink with lots of ice - that's just the way most people are brought up here in Texas. C'mon now you've all seen the ads...."How about a nice ice cold Coca Cola or an ice cold pitcher of tea". Yet when dining out with foreigners it a miracle if they bring you a glass with only 2 or 3 small cubes. These of course, melt as soon as they fill the glass with a luke warm beverage.

I've also learned that if I'm here in the states and eating in a restaurant where a foreigner is serving - they too will shy away from a full glass of ice. It's almost comical to see the expression on their face when I ask for a full glass of ice...no beverage...just ice. I love watching them when I pour my entire beverage into the waiting glass filled with ice.

"Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!"

You can do that here in America because their tips depend on your satisfaction. However, in Paris or Europe most meals already include the tip so they really don't care how often you ask.

The interesting thing about iced tea is that for the most part Europeans NEVER served cold tea in the past. It was always a small cup of hot tea. Well, until they FINALLY caught on with the full econmics of selling it and that Americans would gladly pay for it. Then they realized, "Hey...we could delute it making gallons of it and still charge the same if not more for a glass of iced tea!"

Ya think? Now imagine what could happen if they just added more ice!

No comments: